Key dates


A professional jury of 20 members (one jury member per country participating in the world final) will evaluate the creations of each contestant. All jury members are leading experts in gastronomy – mostly working as head chef or consultant in a pastry or confectionery company, or in hospitality. Each of the jury members has to evaluate and score the performance of all contestants, yet they cannot give marks to the contestant representing his/her own country.


All scores given are monitored by the committee of Jury Presidents. They have the right to ask a jury member to justify his/her score – and to review/re-asses in case of irregularities. The contestant that obtains the highest total score will be awarded the title of ‘World Chocolate Master’. Second and third place winners will also be announced based on 2nd highest and 3d highest scores respectively.


Jury presidents

Jury president

Country: the Netherlands
Pastry chef at: freelance career
Accomplishments: winner of the World Chocolate Masters 2011
Experience: The Victorian in Kuwait, the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Taiwan and the Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong

Tasting president

Country: France
Pastry chef at: Meurice Hotel Paris
Accomplishments: Pâtissier of the Year 2015, Relais Desserts Award the Best Pastry Chef 2016, Omnivore Pastry Award 2017, World Best Pastry Chef “Les Grandes Tables du Monde” 2017, Best Pastry Chef by Gault&Millau 2018
Experience: Fauchon, Meurice

Artistic president

Country: Japan
Pastry chef at: Patisserie Mountain & Cellar de Chocolat by Naomi Mizuno (owner)
Accomplishments: winner of the World Chocolate Masters 2007, Callebaut Ambassador 
Experience: bakery Noe in Tokyo, restaurant Parisienne in Japan, Michel Galoyer’s team, Le Grenier à Pain & Le Trianon in Paris, professor at the Futaba Confectionery College in Tokyo

Jury members


Country: Australia
Pastry chef at: head teacher at Savour School Recognised
Accomplishments: one of the best Pastry Chefs/Chocolatiers in Australia.
Experience: Candidate from previous edition, Jury president of Australian selection

Krzysztof ILNICKI

Country: Poland
Pastry chef at: Umam Patisserie (owner)
Accomplishments: International Culinary Arts degree
Experience: Urban Caprice, Marco Pierre White Michelin star restaurant “Mirabelle”, restaurant Hakkasan, Sheraton hotel, Bake Off main jury member, Cacao Barry Ambassador


Country: Representing North Africa
Role: Jury member

Ming Choong Yong

Country: Singapore
Pastry chef at: FAIRMOUNT Singapore
Accomplishments: international Jury Member + Team Manager at Lyon COUPE DU MONDE DE LA PATISSERIE (2015)
Experience: Junior Pastry World Cup in Italy, World Pastry Cup in France

Noriyuki NAGAI

Country: Japan
Pastry chef at: Patisserie Noliette (owner)
Accomplishments: author of “The Chef’s Local Confectionery in France”, “Pastry Chefs as French Confectionery Professionals” and “Noriyuki Nagai, Sweets at Noliette”
Experience: Jury president of Japan selection, Tsuji culinary school in France, Daniel Giraud in Valence, Dieux Velvalee in Grenoble, Michel Rostang in Paris, Michel Chabran in Pont de L'isere, Hotel InterContinental in Switzerland, and Oberweis in Luxembourg


Country: UK
Director / Owner at Smart Patisserie, 
Pastry consultation
Accomplishments: UK Pastry Chef of the Year in 2007, Tea Guild’s Award of Excellenc,
Experience: Twenty five years experience through five star hotels and michelin restaurants; The Lanesbourough, Mandarin Oriental, Hyde Park and Hakkasan Group worldwide.

Carsten KEJ

Country: Denmark
Pastry chef at: Pastry Instructor - ZBC
Experience: Coach & President of the Danish Pastry Team-Coupe du Monde-Lyon 2017


Country: France
Pastry chef at: Café Pouchkine Paris
Accomplishments: le Guide Lebey Best Dessert 2016, Le Chef Pasty Chef of the Year 2016, Gault et Millau Pasty Chef of the Year 2017
Experience: Le Meurice, l’hotel Raphäel

Matthias LUDWIGS

Country: Germany
Pastry chef at: Törtchen Törtchen (owner)
Accomplishments: author of several professional books, Roussillon Dessert Trophy Germany 2008, Gault Millau Pastry Chef of the Year 2009
Experience: Candidate from previous edition

Cheng Li PENG

Country: China

Pastry chef at: JingDong Group

Official collaboration with JingDong Group to create a factory for pastry products and bakery in Beijing.


Country: Belgium
Pastry chef at: The Ducobu bakery (owner)
Accomplishments: winner of Le Prosper Montagnier, organizer of the best Belgian macaroon
Experience: gives lectures on chocolate and pastry all over the world, Relais Desserts member


Country: the Netherlands
Accomplishments: 2015 Hong Kong Best Pastry Chef, by Tatler Awards , 2013 World Chocolate Masters runner up, 2004 Dutch pastry award
Experience: Pastry chef at Michelin-starred restaurants such as Le Cinq (Four Seasons George V in Paris), Maison Pic (Valence), Caprice (Four Seasons in Hong Kong)


Country: Switzerland
Pastry chef at: Confiserie Speck (owner)
Experience: Jury president of the Swiss preselection

Eduardo DA SILVA

Country: Mexico
Pastry chef at: Da Silva (owner of the 7 stores)


Country: Italy
Accomplishments: Best Italian woman confectioner, Brand ambassador of Lavazza coffee
Experience: Ferran Adrià, Carlo Cracco, Giorgio Pinchiorri

Young-Tae JUNG

Country: Korea
Background: Well known as master of Chocolate showpiece in Korea / His main products in his shop is Chocolate
Distinctions: WCM 2007 World final ranked 6th Place

Alejandro MONTES

Country: Spain
Accomplishments: Best Young Pastry Chef of Spain 2006, Best Master Craftsman Chocolatero of Spain 2007, European Pastry Champion 2010

Dimitri FAYARD

Country: USA
Pastry chef at: The Peninsula Chicago
Accomplishments: three gold medals at the Atlanta Pastry Classic Competition 2001, World Pastry Champion 2008, Top Ten Pastry Chefs in America 2007,
Experience: Academician in the Académie Culinaire de France 2009


Country: Russia
Pastry chef at: top consultant in the confectionery sector
Accomplishments: Callebaut Ambassador, author of «On the road from caramel plates», the Best Book about French Cuisine Award 2016
Experience: Higher Culinary school Alain Ducasse,
Author of silicone moulds of Silikomart, jury member of: various International Gastronomy Festivals in Russia, Les stars de Mougins in France, the forum Gastronomic in Spain, Bakery Conference in Munich, the Turkish National Culinary Festival

Charles AZAR

Country: Lebanon - Representing Middle East

Pastry chef at: CA Consultancy Services
Accomplishments: Gold, Silver and Bronze medals at various competitions. Fifth place at the World Pastry Cup Lyon 2005.
Experience: worked for 15 years at 5 star hotels and Palaces, president of the delegation of L’Academie Nationale de Cuisine Middle East and Gulf countries, international jury member at various gastronomic meeting places and festivals, TV chef.